VIDEO, GALLERY: School newspaper winners 

NEWSMAKERS of the future have celebrated their achievements at the annual Newcastle Herald and Newcastle Permanent Building Society School Newspaper Competition awards.

Students from 94 schools participated in the competition, which required teams to create a two-page entry that included six news stories with photos.

Teams also had to write an editorial, cartoon and advertisement.

About 300 students, principals, teachers and representatives from the Department of Education and Communities, and the Catholic Schools Office gathered at Hunter Stadium yesterday for the presentation.

Newcastle Permanent chief executive Terry Millett presented $150 in an account to winners of each category, a camera package valued at $300 for winners of the photography category, $500 in an account to winners of the young writer category and a $2000 cheque to the winners of the best overall newspapers.

Anastasia Martin, 13, from 

Merriwa Central School was named secondary young writer for her solid understanding of story structure and ability to provide a human-interest element to her work.

She will visit the Newcastle Herald for a week of work experience.

‘‘It’s awesome, I didn’t really expect it, but it’s brilliant,’’ she said of her win. 

‘‘The competition is a lot of fun and you get the chance to win money for your school, cameras and build up your skills.’’

Anna Bay Public School was named best overall primary newspaper and Merriwa Central School took out the overall high school section.

Mr Millett said Newcastle Permanent was proud to have sponsored for the past 24 years a competition that promoted reading, writing and creative thought.

Newcastle Herald Newspapers in Education co-ordinator Judith Whitfield praised the students’ enthusiasm and talent and thanked her predecessor Richard French, who had worked hard to ensure the future of quality journalism.


 Special Achievement: Kotara School’s Nexus Class, Kotara School’s Red Class, Aspect Hunter School’s Waratah West Satellite Class (Autism Spectrum Australia), St Dominic’s Centre Mayfield for the hearing impaired, George Anderson Walpole School, Brisbane Water Secondary College Croft Unit. 

Primary school advertisement: Highly commended Georgina Thompson, Paterson Public. Winner: Rhiana Hodges, Anna Bay Public.

 High school advertisement: Highly commended Tamara Pearson, Swansea High, Dana Pendrick, Gosford High. Winner Chelsea Gray, Macquarie College Wallsend. 

Primary school cartoon: Highly commended Emily Hill , St James Kotara South. Winner Jasmin Zhou, New Lambton Public. 

High school cartoon: Winner Mitchell Bischoff, Bishop Tyrell College. Primary school news story: Highly commended Sienna Haines, The Junction Public. 

Winner: Ryan Hicks and Mikayla Rodwell, Our Lady of Lourdes Tarro. 

High school news story: Highly commended Habi Diallo, Daneth Phan and Donemala Phanalasy, Callaghan College Jesmond. Winner: Anastasia Martin, Merriwa Central.

Primary school editorial: Highly commended Issac Power-Fryer, Windale Public. Winner: Kye Beisler, Dungog Public. 

High school editorial: Highly commended Daniel Caban, Hunter Sports High, Montana Stephens and Zak Rowe, Brisbane Water Secondary College Croft Unit. Winner: Kate Slowey, San Clemente High School 

Primary photography: Highly commended Laura Egan, Ashtonfield Public, Savannah Jolly, Lakes Grammar Warnervale. Winner: Finley Beasley, The Junction Public. 

Secondary photography: Highly commended Aleena Crouch, St Philip’s Christian College Cessnock. Winner: Emily Mors, Hunter Sports High. 

Primary young writer of the year: Highly commended Dominic Leaver, Olivia Newton and Clodagh Bray, St Joseph’s Denman, Isabella Hawke, Holy Spirit Primary Kurri Kurri. Winner: John Leao, Our Lady of Lourdes Tarro.  

Secondary young writer of the year: Highly commended Daniel Caban, Hunter Sports High, Georgia Cameron, Merriwa Central. Winner: Anastasia Martin, Merriwa Central.  

Best  primary school newspaper: Highly commended Dungog Public, Our Lady of Lourdes Tarro. Winner: Anna Bay Public School. 

Best  high school newspaper: Highly commended Rutherford Technology High, San Clemente High School. Winner: Merriwa Central.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide