MOTORING: Kurri Kurri Speedway hots up 

KURRI Kurri Speedway kicks off its 2012-13 summer of racing in a big way tonight, as it plays host to the NSW Senior Speedway Solo Championship, the first of four major titles that will be held at the Loxford Park track over the next two months.

Ramping up the action for what promises to be a hot summer on the cinders, the track will also host two major open events with the Jason Crump Cup on December 26 and the Johnnie Hoskins Trophy meeting in the first week of February next year.

Tonight’s title meeting has attracted a solid field of 22 riders, with six of them making their first Australian appearances since last summer after a season packed with British Premier League racing and European competition.

Sam Masters, Mason Campton, Michael Dyer, Todd Kurtz, Rohan Tungate and Taylor Poole are all lining up at the Loxford Park track after featuring strongly in their various team campaigns in the northern summer.

The ‘‘gang of six ’’will be joined by Cessnock’s Kozza Smith, a former Berwick Bandit rider in the Premier League, but Alex Davies, Jason Doyle and world champion Chris Holder will be absent. Holder and Doyle are both recovering from injury and Davies has family commitments.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide