Akuila Uate named in NSW State of Origin squad

KNIGHTS flyer Akuila Uate and Maitland product Greg Bird have been named in the NSW squad for the State of Origin series opener on May 23.

The full squad is, in alphabetical order: Greg Bird, Jamie Buhrer, Todd Carney, Ben Creagh, Robbie Farah, Paul Gallen (capt), Jarryd Hayne, Michael Jennings, Luke Lewis, Trent Merrin, Josh Morris, Mitchell Pearce, Brett Stewart, Glenn Stewart, James Tamou, Tony Williams, Akila Uate.


The Queensland team, which will be named tomorrow, is expected to include Knights fullback Darius Boyd.

For complete coverage, see tomorrow's Newcastle Herald.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide