Historical Miss Porter's House on King Street undergoing restoration work

LONG TIME COMING: Miss Porter’s House Management Committee chairwoman Kathryn Pitkin, with builders Paul Bendeich, and Will and Ron Hall, awaiting restoration work at the historical King Street site. Picture: Simone De Peak

LONG TIME COMING: Miss Porter’s House Management Committee chairwoman Kathryn Pitkin, with builders Paul Bendeich, and Will and Ron Hall, awaiting restoration work at the historical King Street site. Picture: Simone De Peak

THE more things change, the more they stay the same. 

And staying the same while the world changes with haste is what the dedicated volunteers behind heritage-listed Miss Porter’s House are all about.

Important work to preserve Newcastle’s only National Trust property has begun, with thousands of dollars being ploughed into building a new fence and roof, erecting a new sign and repairing drainage issues. 

The King Street 1909 freestanding terrace is a “living home”, offering its visitors insight into pre-1950s Newcastle. The furnishings and personal items tell the story of the Porter family. Sisters Ella and Hazel lived in the house their entire lives. The home is still said to be haunted, with some claiming to have seen the ghosts of the sisters.

The historical gem will reopen on Australia Day. Miss Porter’s House Management Committee chairwoman Kathryn Pitkin was ecstatic with the long-overdue upgrade, made possible thanks to grants from the state government and Orica Kooragang Island.

THEN AND NOW: Flora, Ella and Herbert Porter at their house circa 1912. Repair work is attempting to replicate the front fence as pictured.

THEN AND NOW: Flora, Ella and Herbert Porter at their house circa 1912. Repair work is attempting to replicate the front fence as pictured.

Smartphone
Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide
Desktop