Herald school newspaper awards 2014

A NATIONAL exclusive on Australia’s biggest unsolved civil aviation disaster earned Stroud Public School the top primary spot in this year’s Newcastle Herald school newspaper competition awards.

The ceremony was held on Tuesday at Hunter Stadium, and recognised the achievements of  the individual students and teams that took part in this year’s competition, sponsored by the Newcastle Permanent Building Society.

Over 350 students, teachers, parents and school representatives turned out to celebrate the efforts of over 90 schools across the Hunter, Lake Macquarie and Central Coast who produced their own two-page newspaper which appeared within the pages of the Newcastle Herald throughout the year.

Stroud Public School won best overall primary entry, which included an exclusive interview with the son of the pilot who was flying a plane which crashed in the Barrington Tops in 1981 and has never been found.

The best overall secondary paper was won by St Paul’s High School Booragul

Other winners included Jessica Olsen from Dungog Primary School for best primary young writer of the year and Daniel Caban from Hunter Sports High School in the secondary category.

Newcastle Permanent CEO Terry Millet thanked the students for ‘‘embracing the competition,’’ by ‘‘harnessing [their] enthusiasm and for hard work and creativity’’, and emphasised the importance of effective communication skills.

Special Achievement

 The Kotara School

Maitland Grossmann High School Support Unit

Best Advertisement - Primary

Highly Commended

Casey Sherwin - Dungog Public School

Anwen Scanlan - Maitland Public School


Sophia Zammit - Kurri Kurri Public School

Best Advertisement - Secondary

Highly Commended

Tayla-Rose Cross - St Paul’s High School Booragul

Rachael Tillemans - Scone High School


Eloise Dagg - Hunter Sports High School

Best Cartoon - Primary

Highly Commended

Ty Riley - St Joseph’s Primary School Merriwa

Ben Anderson - Anna Bay Public School

Grace van den Boogaard - Rathmines Public School


Alex Parsons - Newcastle East Public School

Best Cartoon - Secondary

Highly Commended

Noah Jeffreys - Kurri Kurri High School

Isis Leaver - Callaghan College Wallsend Campus

Jessica Lindstedt - San Clemente


Carolyn Burns - Toronto High School

Best Photography - Primary

Highly Commended

James Snitch - Newcastle East Public

Ryan Liddell, Lochlan Vardy, Liam Martin, Sophie Sorensen, Ryley Kindler - Thornton Public School

Elizabeth Hart - Belair Public School


Mitchell Davoren - St James Primary Kotara South

Best Photography - Secondary

Highly Commended

Taylah Murrell - Hunter School of the Performing Arts

Emily Caldwell - Rutherford Technology High

Lachlan Guy - All Saints College, St Joseph’s Campus


Emily Mors - Hunter Sports High School

Best Editorial - Primary

Highly Commended

Lilly Grant and Isabel Marxsen - Eleebana Public School

Clancy Moore and Eliza Peebles - St Joseph’s Primary School Merriwa

Isabella Bradshaw-West - Dungog Public School


Nicholas Bendeich - Wallsend Public School

Best Editorial - Secondary

Highly Commended

Daniel Caban, Hunter Sports High

Madison Inkster, St Paul’s High Booragul

Rohan Pearson, Grace Reay, Zane Andrews and Angus Hutchinson - Kurri Kurri High School


Lara Harriman - Gosford High School

Best News Story - Primary

Highly Commended

Ella Baartz - Merewether Heights Public School

Aspen Blomfield, Adam Chesher, Ben Galvin, Nick Newstead and Liam O'Brien - Nulkaba Public School

Elizabeth Hart, Lauren Isaac, Saskia Ferguson and Charlotte McKenna - Belair Public School


Alyssa Mudryk, Amity Carter, Thomas Dew, Emma Field, Amy Klein, Sara Mudryk and Peter Raine - Stroud Public School

Best News Story - Secondary

Highly Commended

Rhiannon Mobbs-Keegan - Lisarow High School

Natasha Hayes - Toronto High School


Leah Wright - Merriwa Central School

Best News Video

Thornton Public School

The Junction Public School

Best Young Writer - Primary

Highly Commended

Eloise Purdon - St Paul’s Primary School Rutherford

Emma Hanssen - Woodberry Public School


Jessica Olsen - Dungog Public School

Best Young Writer - Secondary

Highly Commended

Madison Inkster - St Paul’s High School Booragul

Lara Harriman - Gosford High School


Daniel Caban - Hunter Sports High School

Best Overall Entry - Primary

Highly Commended

St Joseph’s Primary School Merriwa

New Lambton Public School

Wallsend Public School

Newcastle East Public School


Stroud Public School

Best Overall Entry - Secondary

Highly Commended

All Saints College, St Joseph’s Campus

Hunter Sports High School


St Paul’s High School Booragul


Discuss "School newspaper competition: The winner is ..."

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.