Newcastle Rugby:

Elite company:  Four-time premiership winner Steve Lamont.

Elite company: Four-time premiership winner Steve Lamont.

CAPTAIN and four-time premiership winner Steve Lamont was among 10 players to be the inducted into the Hamilton Hall of Fame at a gala dinner to mark the club’s 50th anniversary.

More than 500 Hawks faithful were on hand at Wests Newcastle on Saturday night for the announcement of the latest inductees, which takes the number to 50.

Lamont, who is in his eighth season at Passmore Oval, was joined by fellow four-time winner Ivan Walkling, current Joe Akkersdyk, Sireli Bainivalu, Paddy Killmurray and Pete Maxwell and past players Nick Palmer, Dan Palmer, Eric Vasukicakau and Damien Wells.

* The Waratahs fly-half Dane Sherratt will make his NSW Country debut against Brumbies Provincial on Saturday. He will be joined by Travis Brooke, Jono O’Toole, Bainivalu, Nathan Brennan and Jack Arthur.

* Former Wanderer Harry Johnson-Holmes played off the bench as Australia beat Italy 42-19 in the play-off for fifth place at the under-20 World Rugby championships on Wednesday.


Discuss "Hamilton induct 10 into hall of fame"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.