Newcastle Rugby League: Grand final teams represented at 2017 NSW Aboriginal Knockout

Matt Simon
Matt Simon

At least 10 players from Saturday’s Newcastle Rugby League first grade grand final are expected to line up at this weekend’s NSW Aboriginal Rugby League Knockout at Leichhardt Oval.

Most come from the victorious Macquarie side – three Briggs brothers (Scott, Randall and Isaac), playmaker Andy Sumner, second-rower Simon Allen, utility Tye Alchin and fullback Matt Simon. They will all join the Newcastle All Blacks squad.

Beaten favourites Western Suburbs will provide prop Warren Schillings (Newcastle Yowies) as well as custodian Brad Tighe and player of the year Ryan Walker to their respective home communities.

Maitland United, Newcastle Emus and the Lake Macquarie Stingrays have also entered the annual tournament.

Kurri Kurri Bulldogs coach Ron Griffiths will be part of the NITV commentary team.

The men’s competition starts on Saturday. The final is scheduled for Monday (3pm).

Elsewhere, Monaro under-23 representative Tori Freeman-Quay was named Country Rugby League player of the year at Friday night’s awards in Sydney.