Linda Greedy work in still life finalsLinda Greedy work in still life finals

Port Stephens artist Linda Greedy has been selected as a finalist in the Coffs Harbour Regional Gallery’s inaugural Still: National Still Life Award competition.

The finalists were selected from over 600 entries – the highest number of entries to the gallery’s still life award in its 10-year history. The overall winner will receive $20,000 and the winner of the People’s Choice Award will take home $5000. The exhibition opens November 24 and runs to January 18, 2018. 

“We’ve been bowled over by the number of entries and their variety,” said gallery curator Jo Besley. “Changing the award to welcome entries in all media has opened the doors to a much wider field of artists working in all types of contemporary still life. It’s exciting to see that Still has – in its very first year – been recognised as an important, nationally significant opportunity for artists.”

A total of 63 artists have been shortlisted. The selected artworks include painting, drawing, photography, printmaking, ceramics, glass, sculpture, video, printmaking and textiles.

The 2017 finalists are: Tony Albert, Louise Allerton, Kelly Austin, Tanya Baily, Elie Begg, Annette Blair, Rene Bolten, Mechelle Bounpraseuth, Terri Butterworth, Fran Callen, Tom Carment, Angela Casey, Tiffany Cole, Karl de Waal, Trisha Dean, Mary Donnelly, Scott Duncan, Sarah Edmondson, Nicolette Eisdell, Merran Esson, Ben Fayle, Guy Gilmour, Sarah Goffman, Ronnie Grammatica, Linda Greedy, Colleen Greig-Canty, Vanessa Holle, Alana Hunt, Susan Jacobsen, Laura Jones, Helle Jorgensen, Paul Kalemba, Laura E. Kennedy, Myriam Kin-Yee, Zai Kuang, Michael Langley, Sam Leach, Kellie Leczinska, Alison Mackay, Josh Mackenzie, Kiata Mason, Julian Meagher, Robert Moore, Stephen Nothling, Susan O’Doherty, Sarah O’Sullivan, Sassy Park, Victoria Reichelt, Elvis Richardson, Damien Shen, Brendan Smith, Tim Snowdon, Richard Spoehr, Vipoo Srivilasa, Nathan Taylor, Samantha Thompson, Anselm van Rood, Prue Venables, Lilli Waters, Kati Watson, Greg Weight, Mirra Whale, Cleo Wilkinson

The shortlisting panel comprised Lismore Regional Gallery director Brett Adlington, Sydney art collector  Lisa Paulsen, and Coffs Harbour Regional Gallery coordinator Cath Fogarty and curator Jo Besley.

Finalist: Lindy Greedy's artwork.

Finalist: Lindy Greedy's artwork.

The award will be judged by Lisa Slade, assistant director artistic programs, at the Art Gallery of South Australia, who is a former Newcastle Art Gallery curator.