Cricket: Regional Bash eligibility rules force Newcastle Blasters into changes for finals series

IN: Newcastle representative Marcus Hainsworth. Picture: Jonathan Carroll
IN: Newcastle representative Marcus Hainsworth. Picture: Jonathan Carroll

Newcastle representative selectors have been forced to call-up players for Sunday’s Regional Bash finals series at the Sydney Cricket Ground because of the T20 tournament’s eligibility rules. 

Belmont pair Marcus Hainsworth and Ray Cooper will join the Blasters at the Sydney Cricket Ground to take on Northern Rivers Rock for a place in the decider. 

It comes after several individuals doubled up for Newcastle in their recent NSW Premier T20 Cup campaign.

Cricket NSW states only three players in any one team can take part in both competitions with Joe Price, Jed Dickson and Dylan Hunter claiming those positions.

James Rushford and Adrian Chad are the two that miss out from the Blasters’ undefeated qualification round in Maitland in October.

Skipper Nathan Price gets an exemption to return having played NSW Premier T20 Cup for his former Sydney club Randwick-Petersham.

Sunday’s other semi-final features the Wagga Wagga Sloggers and Orana Outlaws. 

Play starts at 10am. The final follows at 6:30pm.

BLASTERS: Nathan Price (c), Jed Dickson, Dylan Hunter, Jonty Durrheim, Tom Allen, Andrew Somerville, Matt Willett, Ray Cooper, Marcus Hainsworth, Dan Bailey, Ben Balcomb, Joe Price (groin)/Adrian Chad (standby).