DIOCESE REPORT: Cross country success at Eastern Creek

Diocese cross country runners recently competed at the NSWCCC and NSWCPS Cross Country Championships at Sydney Motorsport Park Eastern Creek. 

The primary school 10 and 11 yrs girls finished first in the team event, while the 8/9 girls, 10 yrs boys and 11 yrs boys finished second.

Riley Barnes from St Joseph’s East Maitland was a standout winning the boys 8/9 yrs division and Samuel Van der Weyde from St Joseph’s Charlestown finished in fourth position. 

Ashlyn Wall from Tarro, Phoebe and Poppy Doran from Charlestown, and Abrahm Russell from Lochinvar all finished an second in their division.

Other students to qualify for NSW PSSA include Emma McMallum from Warners Bay, Macy Neyland from Singleton, Caoimhe Bray from Denman, Aurelia Russell from Lochinvar, Montgomery Ward Thomas from Scone, Eve Howard from Adamstown, Darcy Taafe from Merriwa, Sienna Newton from Maitland, Angus Anson Smith from Kotara, Harriet Greentree from Maitland and Demetrius Rohr from Lochinvar.

For secondary, Molly Salvador from St Paul’s Booragul showed great speed finishing first in the 12/13 yrs division. Sam Taylor from St Francis Xavier’s Hamilton crossed third in the 17 yrs division, Liam Dixon from

All saints College finished third in the 15 yrs and Monty Dixon finished closely behind in fifth. Jack McCurdy from St Mary’s Gateshead finished ninth in the 16 yrs category. All runners secured a place in the NSWCCC team to compete at NSW All Schools in early Term 3.